The Beauty of the Puja Room

Hindu Goddess Sarasvarti

Hindu Goddess of Music Saraswarti

Hindu households have a puja room: a room to house and worship the gods.

I slipped downstairs early morning to find our host in her puja room, candles lit all around her, fresh flowers adorning her statues, she in quiet prayer.  What a heart-filled way to start your day, and a loving energy to bring into your house!   I immediately resolved to make a place for reverence in my future home, a place to meditate, reflect, and look as peaceful and grateful as she did.

My quick photos don’t really do it justice, but thought I’d share anyway.

Puja room filled with fresh flowers

Puja room filled with fresh flowers like jasmine and hibiscus

Puja Room

a meditative space

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment